Opinion by the EEA Scientific Committee on the recruitment of scientific staff in 2021

In 2021, recruitment procedures were completed as follows:

Temporary agents

Fifteen scientific temporary agents took up duties; one as Head of Programme for the area of Coordination, Networks and Strategy; one as Head of Group for the area of Biodiversity and Nature; one as Head of Group for the area of Mitigation, Energy and Transport; and twelve experts within the areas of Sustainable finance; Data flow management; Environment, health and well-being; Climate change and human health; LULUCF: forests and climate; Copernicus and LULUCF; Transition to Sustainability for Freshwater and Marine environment; Climate change impacts; Biodiversity Strategy; Circular Economy monitoring; Climate change adaptation.

Further three selection procedures for scientific temporary agents are ongoing:

- Expert for the area of Pollution-free ecosystems
- Expert for the area of Copernicus land monitoring
- Secretariat to the European Scientific Advisory Board on Climate Change

Contract agents

The Agency completed recruitment procedures for seventeen scientific contract agents in Function Group IV within the areas of European Climate adaptation platform (Climate-ADAPT); Copernicus and LULUCF; Biodiversity monitoring and reporting; Air quality data reporting and assessment; Sustainable finance; LULUCF: agriculture and climate; Waste prevention; Aquatic Ecosystems and Sustainability; Marine Sustainability; Foresight and Policy; Biodiversity and Ecosystems Protection; Environment, human health and well-being; Urban adaptation; Circular Economy monitoring; Biodiversity and Ecosystems Restoration; Zero Pollution.

Three further selection procedures for scientific contract agents in FG IV were ongoing:

- Environmental assessment (6 positions)
- Environmental data and information management (up to 12 positions)
- Climate change (up to 6 positions)

As these three procedures were not completed in 2021, this opinion does not address them.

The Scientific Committee notes that the scientific expertise needed was sufficiently represented in the Selection Committees for the above posts. The names of the Selection Committee Members for the above posts are attached to this paper. The Scientific Committee was informed in a timely manner about the vacancies and was able to assist in the recruitment by distributing the calls to their networks.

The Scientific Committee takes note of the continuing expansion of the EEA staff numbers in 2021. This recruitment is in line with the roles assigned to the EEA by EU bodies through the European Green Deal and the 8th Environment Action Programme. The Scientific Committee is satisfied that the recruitment procedures were of high quality and were pursued in line with the EEA/Eionet Strategy 2021-2030.

The Scientific Committee continues to play an important role in the EEA recruitment process through raising awareness of the open EEA posts to qualified candidates with acknowledged scientific basis and by participating in the selection processes.

Adopted by the Scientific Committee on 18 May 2022

*Prof. Per Mickwitz,*Chair of the EEA Scientific Committee



Overview of selection procedures for EEA scientific staff in 2021

Temporary Agents

Programme and Group	Post reference	Job Title	Grade	Selection Committee members	Staff Committee nominees	Scientific Committee participation
BES	EEA/AD/2020/13	Head of Group – Biodiversity and Nature	AD7	Riyong Kim, Werner Beate, Soren B. Nielsen (Admin)	Daniel Montalvo	Joachim Spangenberg
CET2	EEA/AD/2020/16	Expert – Climate change impacts	AD6	Eva Jensen, Blaz Kurnik, Andreas Manville (Admin), Riyong Kim (Observer), Martin Adams (Observer)	Nils Hettich	Ana Iglesias
EEA	EEA/AD/2020/17	Head of Programme – Coordination and Strategy	AD11	Hans Bruyninckx, Eva Jensen, Søren B. Nielsen, Niall McHale (EFCA)	Aphrodite Mourelatou	
Cluster procedure to fill two posts across programmes	EEA/AD/2021/3	Experts – Environment and Climate	AD6	Anita Pirc-Velkavrh, Blaz Kurnik, Andreas Manville (Admin), Eva Jensen (Observer), Jock Martin (Observer)	Jonathan Maidens	
Cluster procedure for CET and IAS	EEA/AD/2021/6	Heads of Group – CET and IAS	AD7	Eva Jensen, Jock Martin, Soeren Nielsen (Admin)	Gulcin Karadeniz	Joachim Spangenberg
BES	EEA/AD/2021/9	Pollution-free ecosystems	AD6	Riyong Kim, Stephane Isoard, Stefan Jensen, Agnieszka Andrzejewska (Admin)	Ian Marnane	



Contract Agents

Programme and Group	Post reference	Job Title	Grade	Selection Committee members	Staff Committee nominees	Scientific Committee participation
Cluster procedure to fill two posts across programmes	EEA/CA/2021/1	Experts – Environmental Assessment	FG IV	Daniel Montalvo, Brian Mac Sharry, David Cartaxo (Admin)	Suzanne Dael	
Cluster procedure launched to fill several posts across	EEA/CA/2021/8	Experts – Environmental data and information management	FG IV	Daniel Montalvo, Stephane Isoard, John Van Aardenne, David Cartaxo (Admin)	Rasa Narkeviciute	
programmes						